Hot house l'interrogatoire

© Julien de Lemos

HOT HOUSE

Nightmarish Satire by Harold Pinter

Created in December 2007

"Simple truth can often be something more terrible than ambiguity and doubt. Harold Pinter

Harold Pinter theatre is similar to Beckett and Ionesco’s: the same refusal of any dishonest compromise, the same contempt for ideological lesson, the same existential questioning, the same musical conception of dialogues and monologues, the same brutality of structures and the same taste of ambiguity, a strange humour which dares to take the risk of tragedy.

Hot House is a youthfull play with a strange fate that was written in 1959 and shelved by Pinter, forgetting its existence until he enthusiastically rediscovers it in 1980. "Hot House" is unquestionably the most violently satiric and jubilant work of all of his plays. The characters are the executives of an undefined bureaucratic institution. Patients, whom we never see, are known by their number. Is it a retirement home, a hospital or a concentration camp?

Being a ferocious satire about power and ambition, funny and terrifying at the same time, "Hot House" is the work of a young author. It belongs to what we call the “theatre of threat ". Harold Pinter explores, with a Kafkaesque humour, the inherent permanent danger to language (misunderstandings, unspoken, not heard at all) and the behaviours that result from it (paranoia, sadomasochism, schizophrenia).

I asked the actors to convey this condition, this cheerful sadism and explosive atmosphere of this "greenhouse". The performance area is closed, more in the style of jar than a bunker: because, as in "1984" by George Orwell, or in Brazil by Terry Gilliam, the Hot House protagonists have the alarming certainty that they are being scrutinised…. as actors.

Jérémie Le Louët

Hot house l'interrogatoire

© Julien de Lemos

HOT HOUSE

Satire cauchemardesque d'Harold Pinter

Création en décembre 2007

" Une simple vérité peut souvent être quelque chose de plus effrayant que l’ambiguïté et le doute. " Harold Pinter

Le théâtre d’Harold Pinter ne manque pas de similitudes avec celui de Beckett et de Ionesco : le même refus de toute compromission, le même mépris de la leçon idéologique, le même questionnement existentiel, la même conception musicale des dialogues et monologues, la même brutalité des structures et le même goût de l’équivoque, cet humour étrange qui ose prendre le risque du tragique.

Pièce de jeunesse au destin étrange écrite en 1959 que Pinter a « mise de côté » jusqu’à en oublier l’existence pour la redécouvrir en 1980 et la monter avec enthousiasme, Hot House est sans conteste la pièce la plus violemment satirique et jubilatoire de son oeuvre. Les personnages sont les cadres d’une institution bureaucratique non définie. Des patients que l’on ne voit jamais sont nommés par des numéros matricules. S’agit-il d’une maison de repos, d’un hôpital, d’un camp de concentration ?

Satire féroce sur le pouvoir et l’ambition, à la fois comique et terrifiante, Hot House est l’oeuvre d’un jeune auteur. Elle appartient à ce qu’on appelle alors le « théâtre de la menace ». Harold Pinter y explore, avec un humour kafkaïen, le danger permanent inhérent au langage (malentendus, sous-entendus, pas entendus du tout) et les comportements qui en résultent (paranoïa, sado-masochisme, schizophrénie...).

J’ai demandé aux acteurs de rendre compte de ce malaise, de ce sadisme jovial et de l’atmosphère explosive de cette « serre ».
L’espace de jeu est clos, plus à la manière d’un bocal que d’un bunker ; car de même que dans 1984 de George Orwell ou dans Brazil de Terry Gilliam, les protagonistes de Hot House ont la certitude angoissante d’être scrutés comme... des acteurs.

Jérémie Le Louët