77

© Steve Assandri

UN PINOCCHIO DE MOINS

Immoral Phantasmagoria according to Carlo Collodi

Created in January 2009

"The most beautiful of our myths is neither Faust, nor Don Juan, but Pinocchio. We are Pinocchio back- to-front: we are wooden and we have to get rid ourselves - to rid ourselves of the man and become masks again." Valère Novarina

A disobedient broken wooden marionette dreams about becoming "a good little boy". Just like in the Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Don Juan, the protagonist is thrown on to a risky path which confronts him to all his perversities. His journey is an initiatory route in the Cinecittà Italy, which spreads out over a multitude of stages in, and so many different theatres: the sea, the city, the countryside, the forest, a small puppet theatre, the stomach of a shark … Each event serves an element of a therapy that in turn transforms this Pinocchio monster into a wise and well-behaved boy.

At first, it is the enigmatic, strange and dark tale which seduced me. The language of Carlo Collodi, is a rare arrogance that also enthused me; lively, fast, sometimes trivial, sometimes baroque, with its leitmotivs, repetitions, rigged proverbs and its violent breaks. In my adaptation, I divided the text into movements, into successive waves, battling against the script of "explanation" and the script "generality", so that very contrasted sequences add up, collide, dispute, creating intense dynamics, situations that do not settle down.

"Let the performance’s continuous stream be comparable to the continuous stream of an orchestra" Jean-Louis Barrault

I asked the actors to reveal theatre peculiar subtleties without betraying the mystery of representation. As in my previous shows, characters are pushed to the limit of archetypes, until extravagance, by avoiding, the burlesque and caricatural. There is a strong theatrical claim in Pinocchio and many costumes because five actors take care of Collodi’s crowded universe. The sound and light bring this nightmare to life, leading us to sense these nightmares anxiety.

Jérémie Le Louët

77

© Steve Assandri

UN PINOCCHIO DE MOINS

Fantasmagorie immorale d'après Carlo Collodi

Création en janvier 2009

" Le plus beau de nos mythes n’est ni Faust, ni Don Juan, mais le mythe de Pinocchio. Nous sommes des Pinocchio à l’envers : nous sommes en bois et nous avons à nous défaire de nous – à nous défaire de l’homme et à redevenir masques. " Valère Novarina

Un pantin de bois désobéissant rêve de devenir « un petit garçon comme il faut ». Tout comme dans le Magicien d’Oz et Don Juan, le protagoniste est jeté sur un chemin hasardeux qui le confronte à toutes ses perversités. Son voyage est un parcours initiatique dans une Italie de Cinecittà, qui s’étale sur une multitude de scènes, autant de théâtres différents : la mer, la ville, la campagne, la forêt, un petit théâtre de marionnettes, le ventre d’un squale… Chaque péripétie est un élément d’une thérapie qui fera de ce monstre de Pinocchio un enfant « sage et dévoué ».

C’est d’abord le conte énigmatique, étrange et sombre qui m’a séduit. La langue de Carlo Collodi, d’une insolence rare, m’a également enthousiasmé ; vive, rapide, tantôt triviale, tantôt baroque, avec ses leitmotivs, ses répétitions, ses proverbes truqués et ses violentes ruptures. Dans mon adaptation, j’ai découpé le texte en mouvements, en vagues successives, luttant contre « l’explication » de texte, « la généralité » du texte, pour que des séquences très contrastées s’additionnent, se percutent, se contestent, créant des intensités dynamiques, des situations qui ne s’installent pas.

" Que le flot continu de jeu soit comparable au flot continu d'un orchestre "
Jean-Louis Barrault

J'ai demandé aux acteurs de dévoiler les artifices propres au théâtre sans trahir le mystère de la représentation. Comme dans mes précédents spectacles, les personnages sont poussés à la lisière des archétypes, jusqu’à l’outrance, en évitant le burlesque et la caricature. Il y a une forte revendication théâtrale dans Pinocchio et beaucoup de travestissements puisque cinq acteurs prennent en charge l’univers très peuplé de Collodi. Le son et la lumière matérialisent ce cauchemar et contribuent à nous faire ressentir l'angoisse des mauvais rêves.

Jérémie Le Louët