Visuel_ubu_paysage_basse_def

© Cie des Dramaticules

UBU ROI

Pseudo-practical joke according to Alfred Jarry

Created in November 2014

If we judge the play from a strictly literary point of view – which would be wrong to do, the "Ubu Roi" is a very poor piece. Not much spirit, not much poetry, not much philosophy … But we cannot separate the play of its story: a 23-year-old young man who decides to operate a full renovation of theatre by theatre. Alfred Jarry orchestrates the destruction of all scleroses and all academicism’s of bad tradition that prevents theatre (and the rest!) to free itself from conventions in which youth is saturated.
The destroyers, the transgressors, the hideous cheats always liven-up my shows. They are the best characters. Those who eternally allow us to measure our drives, our fantasies and our frustrations. Those who question the theatricality by their only presence on stage. And then, the question of theatricality for me is highly political because it determines the ambition and degree of the artists’ on stage commitment.
In our "Ubu", panels do not follow each other; they collide and dispute in an emphatic, ironic and critical fashion. The play speaks about abuse of power, about abuse of arbitrary power, about abuse of violence … On stage, the abuses originate in the noxious relationship between actors performing the play; the story of a theatre group playing "Ubu Roi" and tearing while playing it. It is a staged crisis. And in this demolition, Jarry only asks to be ill-treated.

Jérémie Le Louët

Visuel_ubu_paysage_basse_def

© Cie des Dramaticules

UBU ROI

Pseudo-farce d'après Alfred Jarry

Création en novembre 2014

Si l’on juge la pièce d’un point de vue strictement littéraire – ce que l’on aurait tort de faire -, Ubu roi est une œuvre bien pauvre. Peu d’esprit, peu de poésie, peu de philosophie… Mais on ne peut séparer la pièce de son histoire, celle d’un jeune homme de 23 ans qui a décidé d’opérer une rénovation du théâtre par le théâtre. Jarry orchestre la destruction de toutes les scléroses, de tous les académismes, de la mauvaise tradition qui empêche le théâtre (et le reste !) de s’affranchir des conventions dont la jeunesse est saturée.
Les destructeurs, les transgresseurs, les affreux imposteurs ont toujours animé mes spectacles. Ce sont les meilleurs personnages. Ceux qui, éternellement, nous permettent de mesurer nos pulsions, nos fantasmes et nos frustrations, ceux qui interrogent la théâtralité par leur seule présence sur la scène. Et puis, la question de la théâtralité est pour moi hautement politique puisqu’elle détermine l’ambition et le degré d’engagement des artistes sur le plateau.
Dans notre Ubu, les tableaux ne se suivent pas, ils se percutent et se contestent sur le mode emphatique, ironique et critique. La pièce parle d’abus de pouvoir, d’abus d’arbitraire, d’abus de violence… Sur scène, les abus prennent leur source dans le rapport délétère entre des acteurs travaillant la pièce ; l’histoire d’une troupe jouant Ubu roi et se déchirant en jouant Ubu roi. C’est une mise en crise obstinée de la représentation à laquelle nous avons à faire. Et dans cette entreprise de démolition, Jarry ne demande qu’à être brutalisé.

Jérémie Le Louët