Salome-485

© Sébastien Chambert

SALOMÉ

Polyphonic Variation of Oscar Wilde

Created in January 2011

"Salome is an opera, a polyphonic variation of the bond between art and nature." James Joyce

Being part of the few plays in French by an English speaking writer, "Salome" roved to be meteoric in terms of Wilde’s theatrical work. It is also one of the most representative writings of the “Decadent” movement, with its parodic intentions, tributes and the grinding of teeth. Themes are universal and timeless: temptation, faith, law. Consumed by the desire, the insanity and the hatred, the characters are pursued in their fantasies, following the example of Wilde himself, who in Court will have to answer to allegations of homosexuality.

"Everything that is love, crime, war or madness, theatre must give us this, if it wants to recover its sense of necessity". Antonin Artaud

The actor is often a prisoner of the literal meaning of words, entangled in syntax and psychology. Feeling is then conveyed in a demagogic, psychological and stereotypical way. "Salomé", through the persistent use of leitmotivs, breaks, silences, passionate monologues and violent “boulevard” breaks, resist whether a psychological or a conventional approach. I ask actors to be wary of official prosody, to trust the intensity of the verb and the musical breaths, but without formal posture, in order to account for the lunar isolation of the characters.

The precious poetry, the feverish sarcasm, the incandescent lyricism and the structure of the play nearing that of an Opera, serves as the ideal ground to question performing art. There are so many invitations of "sprechgesang" (spoken song), a "breath" that I have never stopped exploring since the creation of Les Dramaticules.

Jérémie Le Louët

Salome-485

© Sébastien Chambert

SALOMÉ

Variation polyphonique d'Oscar Wilde

Création en janvier 2011

" Salomé est un opéra, une variation polyphonique sur le rapport entre l’art et la nature. " James Joyce

Météore dans l’oeuvre théâtrale de Wilde, Salomé fait partie des rares œuvres écrites en français par un écrivain anglophone. Elle est aussi l'un des écrits les plus représentatifs du courant décadent, avec ses intentions parodiques, ses hommages et ses grincements de dents. Les thématiques sont universelles et intemporelles : la tentation, la foi, la loi. Rongés par le désir, la démence et la haine, les personnages sont traqués dans leurs fantasmes, à l'instar de Wilde lui-même qui devra répondre devant un tribunal de son homosexualité.

" Tout ce qui est dans l'amour, dans le crime, dans la guerre ou dans la folie,il faut que le Théâtre nous le rende, s'il veut retrouver sa nécessité ".
Antonin Artaud, Le théâtre et son double

L'acteur est souvent prisonnier du sens littéral des mots, empêtré dans la syntaxe et la psychologie. Le sentiment est alors véhiculé de manière démagogique, psychologique et stéréotypée. Salomé, par l’utilisation persistante des leitmotivs, des pauses, des silences, des tirades enflammées et des violentes ruptures boulevardières, résiste à une approche psychologique ou conventionnelle. Je demande aux acteurs de se méfier de la prosodie officielle, de faire confiance à l’intensité du verbe, aux souffles musicaux mais sans posture formelle, pour rendre compte de l’isolement lunaire des personnages.

La poésie précieuse, le sarcasme fiévreux, le lyrisme incandescent et la structure de la pièce proche de celle d’un opéra sont le terrain idéal pour interroger l'art de l'acteur. Ce sont autant d'invitations au « sprechgesang » (parlé-chanté), « souffle » que je n'ai de cesse d’explorer depuis la création de la Compagnie des Dramaticules.

Jérémie Le Louët