Richardiii-®jeanlouisfernandez62

© Jean-Louis Fernandez

RICHARD III

Masterful simulation of a megalomaniac by William Shakespeare

Created in November 2012

"There is a capable language of getting round the devil." Charles Lamb

The play raises a rather simple question: how is it that, in a corrupt world where everything turns for the worse, a "different" man rises, by the eloquence and the intensity of his verb? Richard denounces curses, chastises, enslaves, and murders his close relations. He uses all the subtleties of theatre: seduction, manipulation, arrangement, curse, and make of his ascension then its fall, a very entertaining show; a merciless, sarcastic and furious demonstration of the world’s mediocrity.

"Only what is unbearable is profoundly tragic, profoundly comic, essentially theatre. (...) The representation of Shakespeare's plays gave me the impression of making bearable the unbearable. It was a taming of anxiety." Eugene Ionesco

In France, we often tend to perform Shakespeare as we would play Marivaux. We chat … We chat … We say beautiful things. We admire the sharpness of spirit, the psychological depth of the characters and the originality of the intrigue, but we forget that Shakespeare was at first a poet of incandescent lyricism. The biggest genius of all theatre authors, of all time, is primarily so, for his poetic power. His theatrical genius remains founded in its poetic genius.

"In theatre, there is word: the word is the enemy; the word used as it was, meaning, never sung, never denied, never persecuted, never persecuted enough. What I mean to say is that we have ignored singing." Carmelo Bene

All my shows bear witness to the crisis of word, in a society where word is corrupt. The "Richard III" play came to our path in 2002, as Les Dramaticules was being founded. The loyalty shown by actors who follow me has enabled me to create, with them, a "acting style grammar", musical and choreographic, which has become the base of my work as a director. "Richard III", tragedy of the mystification, is an exciting playground for my linguistic experiment, for my taste of sequencing and my "fascination / aversion" for monsters of power.

On stage, theatrical artifices are claimed as accessories and as signs: unarmed stage, steel ground just like a metal mirror, walls of fluorescent lamps used as "scenographic" elements, staircase as a throne, benches for the actors who are not in play, costumes racks, microphones on tripods, crown, daggers …

Jérémie Le Louët

Richardiii-®jeanlouisfernandez62

© Jean-Louis Fernandez

RICHARD III

Simulation magistrale d'un mégalomane de William Shakespeare

Création en novembre 2012

" Il y a une langue capable d'embobeliner le diable." Charles Lamb

La pièce pose une question assez simple : comment, dans « un monde corrompu où tout va pour le pire », un homme « différent » s’élève-t-il, par l’éloquence et l’intensité de son verbe ? Richard dénonce, maudit, châtie, asservit, assassine ses proches. Il use de tous les artifices du théâtre : séduction, manipulation, composition, imprécation, et fait de son ascension puis de sa chute, un spectacle très divertissant ; une démonstration implacable, sarcastique et rageuse, de la médiocrité du monde.

« Seul ce qui est insoutenable est profondément tragique, profondément comique, essentiellement théâtre. (...) La représentation des pièces de Shakespeare me donnait l’impression de rendre soutenable l’insoutenable. C’était un apprivoisement de l’angoisse. » Eugène Ionesco

En France, on a souvent tendance à jouer Shakespeare comme on jouerait Marivaux. On bavarde… On bavarde… On dit de belles choses. On admire la finesse d’esprit, la profondeur psychologique des personnages et l’originalité des intrigues, mais on oublie que Shakespeare fut d’abord un poète au lyrisme incandescent. Le génie du plus grand auteur de théâtre de tous les temps est d’abord dans sa puissance poétique. Son génie théâtral est dans son génie poétique.

« Au théâtre, il y a la parole : la parole est l’ennemie ; la parole utilisée comme elle l’a été, c’est-à-dire jamais décantée, jamais chantée, jamais niée, jamais persécutée, jamais assez persécutée. Je veux dire qu’on a nié le chant. » Carmelo Bene

Tous mes spectacles témoignent d’une mise en crise de la parole, dans une société où la parole est corrompue. Richard III s’inscrit dans un parcours de troupe qui a démarré fin 2002 avec la création de la Compagnie des Dramaticules. La fidélité des acteurs qui m’accompagnent m’a permis de créer avec eux une « grammaire de jeu », musicale et chorégraphique, qui est le socle de mon travail de metteur en scène. Richard III, tragédie de la mystification, est un terrain de jeu exaltant pour mes expérimentations langagières, mon goût du séquençage et ma "fascination/exécration" pour les monstres de pouvoir.

Sur le plateau, les artifices théâtraux sont revendiqués comme accessoires et comme signes : scène dépendrillonnée, sol en acier comme miroir de métal, parois de tubes fluorescents utilisées comme éléments scénographiques, escalier pour trône, bancs pour les acteurs qui ne sont pas en jeu, portants pour les costumes, micros sur pied, couronne, poignards…

Jérémie Le Louët