8

© Grégory Liénard

MACBETT

Tragic practical joke by Eugene Ionesco

Created in May 2005

"I entitled my comedies anti-plays, funny dramas, and my dramas, pseudo-dramas or farcical tragedies because, it seems to me, that the comic is tragic and it is the tragedy of derisory man." Eugene Ionesco

In a "tragi-grotesque" verbal deluge, Ionesco questions fate, vanity and death. Macbett isn’t the reassuring caricature of one of the most famous Shakespeare's plays, but, more a critical operation of the myth. "Macbett" is "Macbeth" hunted by Ionesco. Ambition, hatred, inhumanity are the main engines. The most violent, most deprived of any ethics will inexorably rise to power.

"Between Shakespeare and Jarry, my Macbett is rather close to Ubu the King." Eugene Ionesco

My directing presents several challenges to the actors: how to be in the extremity of feelings by avoiding the pitfall of parody? How to realise show grotesque as well as, the sublime without sliding towards the comical and caricature? How to by-pass the psychological plot and sentimentality without being too distanced from?

My "Macbett" has a manifesto value: seven actors perform about twenty roles of the play. The stage is delimited by an imaginary line where beyond are situated the wings – a place of "stoppage time" – personified by blood red furniture on wheels. "Ivan the Terrible" by Prokofiev musically accompanies Ionesco’s text, alternately murmured, uttered, chopped-up, ill-treated, brutalised sung, denied, shouted out… by the actors.

"It is necessary to play everything, in allegro. No time, ever. Molière or Shakespeare, all goes at full speed. The actor goes fast and the writing always at full speed (…) always chasing time. Because over time, emotion swept up, the psychology." Valera Novarina

Ionesco’s writing is chaotic as well as being perfectly structured which imbricates and disputes all theatrical codes; it is the ideal ground for exploration. It is entertainment for some, but a nightmare for others; from "boulevard" style to tragedy, including fairy tales. His writing is universal and clear-sighted. "Macbett" give us the opportunity to reflect on power mechanics and its perpetual answers.

Jérémie Le Louët

8

© Grégory Liénard

MACBETT

Farce tragique d'Eugène Ionesco

Création en mai 2005

" J’ai intitulé mes comédies anti-pièces, drames comiques, et mes drames pseudo-drames ou farces tragiques, car, me semble-t-il, le comique est tragique et la tragédie de l’homme dérisoire. " Eugène Ionesco

Dans un déferlement verbal "tragi-ubuesque", Ionesco interroge le destin, la vanité et la mort. Macbett n’est pas la caricature rassurante d’une des plus célèbres pièces de Shakespeare mais une opération critique sur le mythe. Macbett, c’est Macbeth cauchemardé par Ionesco. L’ambition, la haine, la barbarie en sont les principaux moteurs. Le plus violent, le plus dénué de toute éthique accède inexorablement au pouvoir.

"Mon Macbett, entre Shakespeare et Jarry, est assez proche d'Ubu roi."
Eugène Ionesco

Ma mise en scène soumet aux acteurs plusieurs problématiques : comment être dans l’extrémité des sentiments en évitant l’écueil de la parodie ? Comment rendre compte du grotesque et du sublime sans glisser vers le burlesque et la caricature ? Comment contourner le jeu psychologique et la sensiblerie sans être dans un jeu distancié ?

Mon Macbett a valeur de manifeste : sept acteurs jouent la vingtaine de rôles de la pièce. L’espace de jeu est délimité par une ligne imaginaire au delà de laquelle se situent les coulisses - le lieu des « arrêts de jeu » - matérialisées par quelques mobiles rouge sang, sur roulette. Ivan le Terrible de Prokofiev accompagne musicalement le texte de Ionesco, tour à tour murmuré, proféré, haché, brutalisé, chanté, renié, vociféré… par les acteurs.

"Il faut tout jouer allegro. Pas de temps, jamais. Molière ou Shakespeare, ça va à toute allure. L'acteur va vite, l'écriture va toujours à toute allure (…) toujours chasser les temps. Parce que, par les temps s'engouffre l'émotion toute faite, la psychologie." Valère Novarina

L’écriture de Ionesco, à la fois chaotique et parfaitement structurée, qui imbrique et conteste tous les codes théâtraux, est le terrain idéal de mes explorations. Divertissement pour les uns, cauchemar pour les autres ; du boulevard à la tragédie, en passant par le conte de fée ; universel et clairvoyant. Macbett est l’occasion pour chacun d’une réflexion sur la mécanique du pouvoir et ses perpétuelles répliques.

Jérémie Le Louët